|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Dec 7, 2003 18:02:42 GMT -5
To add a star or multiple stars to an additional member group, use this format. Go into admin ---> Edit Member Groups and place this in the box at the bottom where it says Additional Member Groups.
Member Group Name<br><img src='URL OF STAR'>
For multiple stars, repeat the <img src='URL OF IMAGE'> part. For example, a group with 5 stars would look like:
Member Group Name<br><img src='URL OF STAR'><img src='URL OF STAR'><img src='URL OF STAR'><img src='URL OF STAR'><img src='URL OF STAR'>
|
|
|
Post by GooRoo on Dec 30, 2003 23:46:35 GMT -5
I am assuming (perhaps incorrectly) that "Member Group Name" in the script above is not a keyword, but a placeholder for "Guest", "Administrator" and everything in between.
I am using switchit to change group names, as:
Guest = disGruntled New Member = New Gruntzer Junior Member = Junior Gruntzer (etc.)
I have custom images I would like to display for these groups. For the Gruntzerz, instead of stars (one to five of them), I want to display images "ABCDE" (one to five different images. (These images are Gruntz, going from weakest to strongest.)
Using the code listed above, how would this be accomplished?
disGruntled <img src='URL OF MY IMAGE'>
My attempt at copying your code resulted in an unwanted newline ... and the < > is gone.
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Dec 31, 2003 7:15:23 GMT -5
There is no need to use the switchit code for that. Just go into admin ---> Edit Member Groups and change the name of the group on the right hand side. The left hand side will always display the original name, but the right hand side will display whatever you want the names to be. That way you can change the name of Administrator, Global Moderator, Moderator, New Member, Junior Member, etc. Go into admin ---> Customize Board Images and replace the URL of the star with this URL proboards8.com/boardimages/blank.gif That will make a blank, transparent, 1x1 pixel image appear for each of the stars, making it look like they're not their. Then, go into admin ---> Edit Member Groups, and use the code at the top, on the right hand column of member group names; the ones you can edit. So, where it says New Gruntzer, next to New Member, use the code, so it looks like: New Gruntzer<br><img src=' URL OF FIRST IMAGE'><img src=' URL OF SECOND IMAGE'><img src=' URL OF THIRD IMAGE'><img src=' URL OF FOURTH IMAGE'><img src=' URL OF FIFTH IMAGE'> The <br> is HTML for a new line. It will create a new line if you edit your post or attempt to hit preview.
|
|
|
Post by GooRoo on Dec 31, 2003 10:26:50 GMT -5
Oh, very good! A very thorough and well-documented answer to my question, and even one that will Simpsonify (er, simplify ) my Footers! I don't remember the (fictional) detective who said it, but the quote applies here ... "this case is closed!"
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Dec 31, 2003 16:36:51 GMT -5
No problem
|
|
|
Post by GooRoo on Jan 5, 2004 18:15:27 GMT -5
Now that I finally have a reliable hot-link hosting site, I have actually started making these modifications.
For all of the groups in the upper box, your code works great! New=icon A; junior=icon AB; full=icon ABC; etc.
But for the group in the lower box, I get nothing at all. I am so close, but not getting that cigar. I am copying the code and entering it below for you to look at. (Changing my URLs to URLofIMAGE.)
Designer<br><img src='URLofIMAGE/DesignStar.gif'><img src='URLofIMAGE/DesignStar.gif'><img src='URLofIMAGE/DesignStar.gif'><img src='URLofIMAGE/DesignStar.gif'>
Am I missing some "</img>"s?
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Jan 5, 2004 19:22:49 GMT -5
Image tags are one of the few that don't need closing tags, so there's no such thing as </img>
When you make the changes in Edit Member Groups, and click save, you have to give the person that rank again for the changes to take effect. So you'd have to go into their profile, re-give them the rank of Designer (in this case), save their profile, click refresh (so the server actually updates the information), and the new stars should be there.
If not, could you post the URL of one of your stars?
|
|
|
Post by GooRoo on Jan 5, 2004 20:07:34 GMT -5
Once again, your instructions were perfect! My designers now all have four BrickLayerz under their names! Thanks for your help!!!
|
|
looker
Junior Member
Posts: 11
|
Post by looker on Jan 18, 2004 10:23:36 GMT -5
this seemed to work yesterday but then 2 day on my test site i went back to do some nmore work and i have 5 blank boxes with the X in thwe middle i did the thing all over again and it's working again but do i hav redo it every day? ty in advance
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Jan 18, 2004 16:04:33 GMT -5
this seemed to work yesterday but then 2 day on my test site i went back to do some nmore work and i have 5 blank boxes with the X in thwe middle i did the thing all over again and it's working again but do i hav redo it every day? ty in advance If you're having troubles like that, it might be best to host the image yourself. Save it to your computer as a .gif image, and upload it to a host like ripway.com or angelfire.com
|
|
looker
Junior Member
Posts: 11
|
Post by looker on Jan 18, 2004 16:55:55 GMT -5
ok thanks do these host let you hot link?
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Jan 18, 2004 17:11:24 GMT -5
ok thanks do these host let you hot link? Yes they do.
|
|
looker
Junior Member
Posts: 11
|
Post by looker on Jan 19, 2004 15:25:24 GMT -5
Kool this site is very good no messing around just the codes you need the main thing is there a bandwidth issue tripod.co.uk just banned me or closed my account beacsue i over used their band width
|
|
|
Post by JZSquared on Feb 21, 2004 18:58:02 GMT -5
With Angelfire... You might want to have a couple of pages... They don't like it when you use their service for image hosting only... And Angelfire has a limit to bandwidth usage as well... So you might want to limit the number of pics that you will be hot linking from them...
|
|
|
Post by Simpsons Rule on Feb 21, 2004 19:09:15 GMT -5
With Angelfire... You might want to have a couple of pages... They don't like it when you use their service for image hosting only... And Angelfire has a limit to bandwidth usage as well... So you might want to limit the number of pics that you will be hot linking from them... Yea I made sure I covered that in the Hostin Guide here. I still think Ripway is much better though.
|
|